Current track



Balearic Islands added to UK & Northern Ireland green list

Written by on June 24, 2021

The Balearic Islands have been added to the UK green travel list – the first destination in Spain since the introduction of the UK Government’s scheme.

The archipelago joins Malta, Maderia and several UK overseas territories and some Caribbean islands the transport secretary has announced.

The UK’s green list includes:

  • Malta
  • Madeira
  • Balearic Islands (Mallorca, Menorca and Ibiza)
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Barbados
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Anguilla
  • Montserrat
  • Bermuda
  • British Antarctic Territory
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Pitcairn
  • Turks and Caicos Islands

Whilst this is the first destination to be added, there were hopes that other resorts and destinations would be included, however at present this is not the case.  The list is understood to be the same across all four nations of the United Kingdom.

The changes will come into effect from 4am on Wednesday 30 June.