Current track



Government announces state of alarm with nationwide curfew expected in coming days

Written by on October 25, 2020

The government has approved a state of alarm which may last for six months, which will allow for a nationwide curfew – with the exception of the Canary Islands.

Prime Minister Pedro Sanchez tabled a cabinet meeting on Sunday morning and said he would be approving the emergency measures. The latest measure agreed by the coalition government, with the backing of the centre-right Ciudadanos and separatist parties from the Basque country and Catalonia, imposes a nationwide curfew between 23:00 local time and 06:00.

The new decree gives regional governments the option to prohibit travel in and out of their territories unless it is justified.

It also restricts social gatherings and movement between districts except for work and medical reasons.

People will only be able to travel during the curfew hours if required on medical grounds, to care for a dependent or if they have to travel for work.

10 Autonomous Communities including Asturias, La Rioja, Catalonia, The Valencian Community, Castilla la Mancha and the Balearic Islands, as well as the enclave of Melilla requested the new controls as infections in the country continue to rise.

Castilla y León, Catalonia and the Valencian Community have already brought into effect curfew restrictions, after regional governments announced local legislation over the weekend.

Currently 78 areas across the country are under restriction. Since the start of the pandemic, there has been a total of 1,046,132 cases of covid-19 and 34,752 deaths.